COBIT® 5 Foundation Training & Certification

Course Description
This three day, instructor-led IT Governance Foundation Course provides an overview the main concepts of IT Governance according to COBIT® 5, ISACA’s latest governance framework, and how they can be applied. COBIT® 5 provides a comprehensive framework that assists enterprises create optimal value from IT by maintaining a balance between realising benefits and optimising risk levels and resource use. COBIT® 5 enables IT to be governed and managed in a holistic manner for the entire enterprise, taking in the full end-to-end business and IT functional areas of responsibility, considering the IT-related interests of internal and external stakeholders.

This course and the COBIT® 5 Foundation certificate are mandatory for additional COBIT® 5 training, including the COBIT® 5 Implementation Course and Assessor Program Training.

Target Audience
Business Management, IT /IS Auditors, Internal Auditors, Information Security and IT Practitioners; Consultants, IT/IS Management looking to gain an insight into the Enterprise Governance of IT and looking to be certified as a COBIT® Implementer or Assessor.

Course Outline

Module 1

The key features of COBIT® 5

The Reasons for the Development of COBIT® 5
The History of COBIT®
The Drivers for developing a Framework
The Benefits of using COBIT® 5
The COBIT® 5 Format & product Architecture
COBIT® 5 and Other Frameworks

Module 2

The COBIT® 5 principles

Topic 1: Enabler Focus
Topic 2: Control Objectives to Management Practices
Topic 3: From COBIT® 4.1 Management Guidelines to COBIT® 5: Enabling Processes Guidelines

Module 3

The COBIT® 5 enablers

Enabler 1 – Principles, Policies and frameworks
Enabler 2 – Processes
Enabler 3 – Organisational Structures
Enabler 4 – Culture, Ethics, and Behaviour
Enabler 5 – Information
Enabler 6 – Services, Infrastructure and Applications
Enabler 7 – People, Skills and Competencies
Walk Through on using Goals cascade to scope Processes

Module 4

Introduction to COBIT® 5 implementation

The Life cycle Approach
Inter related components of the life cycle
Understanding the enterprise internal and external factors
Key success factors for implementation
The seven phases of the Life Cycle model explained
The seven Change Enablement characteristics used in the life cycle.
Change Enablement relationships to the Continual Improvement Life Cycle
Making the Business case
The differences between COBIT® 4.1 and COBIT® 5

Module 5

Process capability assessment model

What is a process assessment
What is the COBIT® Assessment Programme
The differences between a capability and maturity assessment
Differences to the COBIT® 4.1 CMM
Overview of the COBIT® Capability Model & Assessments
The Process Reference Model (PRM)
The Process Assessment Model (PAM)
The Measurement Framework
Introduction to the Assessor Training Steps

Module 6


Topic 1: preparation for the exam
Topic 2: taking the exam

Training Schedule

COBIT® 5 Foundation Training & Certification
2021 - 2022
Training schedule not found.